Change a user's display name

Leaders and co-presenters can change the display name of users in an ongoing session.

To change the display name of a user in a session:
  1. In the Attendees panel, right-click the name of a participant you want to remove. The context menu appears.
    Figure 1. Change display name
    Change display name
  2. Click Change display name. The Change display name dialog box opens.
    Figure 2. Change display name dialog
    Change display name dialog
  3. Specify the new display name in the New Name field.
  4. Click OK. All users in the session can now see the new display name.
    Note: The display name change is only temporary. It only lasts as long as the session or until it is changed again.
The display name change reflects in the following areas of the Saba Meeting App and Express clients:
  • Text Chat

    Each time the display name of a user is changed, the text chat displays a line stating that a user's display name was changed, including the former and new display names.

    New chat messages sent by the user will show the new display name. However, chat messages sent by the user before the name change, continue to display the user's previous display name.

    The text chat log also includes the appropriate display name at the time the message was sent.

    In the client's text chat Send to drop-down list, the new display name is used.

  • Whiteboard

    While selecting an existing shape on the whiteboard, the owner's display name at the time the shape was created, is shown.

  • Attendees Panel

    The Attendees panel always displays a user's current display name. Each time the display name is changed, it is updated in the Attendees panel.

  • Breakout Tool

    The list of users to move into a breakout room use the display names at the time the tool is launched.

  • Status Panel

    When users are speaking, their current display name is always used. If a user's display name changes while they are speaking, then the Status panel also updates to use the new display name.

  • Video Panels

    The Video panel always uses a user's current display name to identify secondary and primary video panels. If a user's display name changes while they are broadcasting a video, then all corresponding Video panels in the session are updated with the new name.

  • AppShare

    When a user is sharing an app, the AppShare always displays the user's current display name to others. If a user's display name changes while appsharing, then the AppShare host's display name is also updated with the new display name for all users in the session.

The following figure illustrates a sample screen with the updated display name from 'admin' to 'Admin'.

Figure 3. Updated display name in different panels
Updated display name in different panels

If a user, whose display name is changed, loses their network connection and does a re-login, then the client uses the user's original display name to log into the event. Once the login is complete, the client automatically sets the user's display name to the value it was prior to losing the network connection.